[Next] [Previous] [Up] [Top] [Contents]

3.2 Disk Partitioning

3.2.1 SunOS 4.1.X

The disk is organized into logical partitions, each of which corresponds to a device entry, e.g. /dev/sd0a, where sd is the controller type, 0 represent disk0 attached to the controller, and a represents the partition. Partitions "a" through "h" are allowed, where "c" represents the entire disk. The format program writes a label to the disk on cylinder 0, track 0, sector 0, describing the partitions. Partitions allow you to subdivide your disks and separate data.

You can examine your disk partitioning scheme with the dkinfo command.

# dkinfo sd0
sd0: SCSI CCS controller at addr f8800000, unit # 24
1254 cylinders 9 heads 36 sectors/track
a: 16848 sectors (52 cyls)
starting cylinder 0
b: 86184 sectors (266 cyls)
starting cylinder 52
c: 406296 sectors (1254 cyls)
starting cylinder 0
d: No such device or address
e: No such device or address
f: No such device or address
g: 145476 sectors (449 cyls)
starting cylinder 318
h: 157788 sectors (487 cyls)
starting cylinder 767

The devices listed correspond to the logical devices /dev/sd0a --> /dev/sd0h and /dev/rsd0a --> /dev/rsd0h, for the block and character (raw) devices, respectively.

Unix System Administration - 8 AUG 1996
[Next] [Previous] [Up] [Top] [Contents]